English Muffins

IMG_2688Makes 6

  • 1 c milk
    1 T butter
    1 T honey
    2 t (1 pkt.) instant yeast
    2 c all purpose flour
    1/2 t salt
    For dredging
    2 T cornmeal
    1 T flour

In a large bowl (I used my mixer bowl) whisk together flour, yeast and salt.

In a pan, heat milk until just warm, remove from heat and add honey and butter.  Stir until melted.  Add to flour, and mix with dough hook until dough is smooth and elastic.  Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and set in a draft-free location overnight or for 12 hours.

Put a cast iron griddle on the burner over medium heat.  Turn oven on to 350°F.  In a small bowl, mix cornmeal and flour.  When the griddle is hot enough to sizzle water dripped on it (350°-375°F), dip a serving spoon in water, then gently scoop out 1/6 of the dough.  Place dough in cornmeal mixture and turn over.  When evenly coated, gently shape dough into a round and place on griddle.  Repeat until all the dough is used, and turn the heat to low (this should make 6 muffins).  Cook for 10 minutes, lifting muffin halfway through to assess browning.  Muffins should be a deep golden tan at the end of 10 minutes — you may need to adjust the flame.  When muffins are nicely browned, gently flip and cook for another 10 minutes,  then remove from griddle to a baking sheet and finish in the oven for another 10 minutes.  Cool on a rack.

I found this recipe kicking around in the pantry.  I’d printed it from somewhere, sometime, but I now don’t know where I found the recipe.  It is simple and easy.  I used 50% Sifted Whole Wheat Flour from Maine Grains, a new local grist mill in Skowhegan, Maine.  The verdict?  Delicious, but they were not as holey as I would like, so I need to do some research to see if I can solve that problem.  Look for more about Maine Grains and my recent tour of the mill on Henbogle.

